India Announced Test Squad for New Zealand Series, Prithvi Shaw Return, Mayank Get a Chance in ODI

India Announced Test Squad for New Zealand Series
  • Injured Williamson out of New Zealand team for first two ODIs, replaced by Tom Latham
  • The first ODI will be held on 5 February, while the first match of the Test series will be from 21 February

India Announced Test Squad for New Zealand Series on Tuesday. Shubman Gill has been included in the team in place of Rohit Sharma, who was ruled out due to injury. At the same time, Mayank Agarwal got his place in ODIs. Rohit suffered a calf injury in the last T20 against New Zealand on 2 February.

Recently the Indian team made a clean sweep to New Zealand in the 5 T20 series at their home. With this, India became the first country to do a clean sweep in 5 or more T20 series. Now 3 ODIs and 2 Tests will be played between the two countries. The first ODI will be played in Hamilton on 5 February, while the first Test will take place in Wellington from 21 February.

Read Here: Latest News

Williamson Out of First Two ODIs

At the same time, New Zealand has suffered a major setback. Their captain Kane Williamson has been ruled out of the first two ODIs due to a shoulder injury. He will be replaced by Tom Latham. Mark Chapman has been added to the squad in place of Williamson. Williamson was hurt during the third T20. After this, the last two matches of the T20 series could not be played. According to the team management, skepticism remains on Williamson’s third ODI, but he will play the Test series.

Rahul did not Get a Chance in the Test

Lokesh Rahul could not find a place in the Test team. He scored the highest number of 224 runs in T20 series. At the same time, Gill had scored an unbeaten double century in the unofficial Test against New Zealand A recently. Mayank could not open an account in both innings. A BCCI official said that Rohit has been ruled out of the tour. They do not fit perfectly. Physicians are watching his injury, although it is difficult to say anything about it now.

Prithvi Shaw Returns to Test After One Year

Prithvi Shaw scored a century in the debut test against the West Indies in November 2018. He was then included in the squad for the Test series against Australia. He was injured in the practice match. His leg was hurt. He had to return home. After this, he was also banned for 8 months due to consumption of banned drugs. Prithvi returned to domestic cricket from November 2019. He also scored a double century in the Ranji Trophy. Prithvi played the last Test against the West Indies in October 2018. In this, he scored innings of 70 and 33 runs. Prithvi has so far scored 237 runs in 2 Tests at an average of 118.50, including a century and a half-century. India Announced Test Squad for New Zealand Series.

Mayank Can Debut in the ODI

At the same time, Shubman has not made his Test debut yet. He has played 2 ODIs so far, scoring just 16 runs at an average of 8. Mayank has not played his first ODI so far. While he has scored 872 runs in 9 Tests at an average of 67.07. Mayank has also scored double centuries in Tests.

Test team: Virat Kohli (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Riddhiman Saha (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Ishant Sharma.

One-day team: Virat Kohli (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, Lokesh Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Shivam Dubey, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja, Jaspreet Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini. , Shardul Thakur, Kedar Jadhav.

About Ravendra Singh

Hello Friends! My name is Ravendra Singh. I am a professional Blogger and Digital Marketing Consultant & Founder of Newsbeed. I have deep knowledge on topics like Blogging, SEO and Digital Marketing!

View all posts by Ravendra Singh →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *