IND vs NZ: New Zealand Achieved 183 Runs Lead in First Innings, Prithvi Shaw Out, Mayank-Pujara at the Crease

IND vs NZ New Zealand Achieved 183 Runs Lead in First Innings
  • In the first innings of New Zealand, Williamson scored 89, Taylor 44, and Jamison scored 44 runs.
  • India scored 165 in the first innings; Rahane scored 46, Agarwal 34, Shami scored 21

IND vs NZ: The first match of the two-Test series between India and New Zealand is being played in Wellington. New Zealand were all out for 348 on Sunday in the first innings. While the Indian team scored 165 runs in their first innings. In this context, the Kiwi team achieved an 183-run lead against India. On the third day, New Zealand’s Kyle Jamison scored the highest number of 44 runs. Ishant Sharma took 5 wickets. Mayank Agarwal and Cheteshwar Pujara are at the crease in India’s second innings. Prithvi Shaw returned to the pavilion for 14 runs. He was caught by Trent Boult by Tom Latham.

Read Here: Latest News

Apart from Jamison, New Zealand captain Kane Williamson scored the most 89, Ross Taylor 44 and Tom Blendall 30. At the same time, Ishant was followed by Ravichandan Ashwin 3, while Mohammad Shami and Jasprit Bumrah took 1-1 wickets.

Kiwi Team’s First Innings

On the third day, New Zealand’s team started playing ahead by 216 runs at 5. At the start of the match, BJ Watling was caught by Bumrah at the hands of wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant. Watling scored 14 runs. After this, Tim Southee was caught by Ishant Sharma to Mohammed Shami. Saudi scored 6 runs. Kyle Jamison played a stormy knock of 44, during which he also hit 4 sixes. Jamison was out off Ashwin. After this, Colin de Grandhom (43 runs) was also caught by Ashwin at the hands of Pant. New Zealand’s final wicket fell as Trent Boult. He was caught out by Ishant Sharma. Bolt, batting at a brisk pace, shared a 36-run partnership with Patel for the final wicket.

In the match, Ishant gave the Indian team the first 3 successes. He first got Tom Latham (11 runs) caught out by wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant. Then Blendall was bowled clean. After this, Taylor was caught out by Cheteshwar Pujara. After this, Mohammed Shami caught Williamson with Ravindra Jadeja on his ball. Williamson shared a 93-run partnership for the third wicket with Taylor. Ravichandran Ashwin dismissed Henry Nicholls for 17 runs. His catch in the slip was taken by Virat Kohli. Ind vs NZ.

India Scored 165 Runs in The First Innings

At the beginning of the second day of the match, the Indian team started playing at 122 for 5. Ajinkya Rahane 46, Mayank Agarwal 34, Mohammed Shami 21 and Rishabh Pant 19 scored for the team. At the same time, New Zealand’s Tim Southee and Kyle Jamison, playing their first match, took 4-4 wickets. Rahane hit 5 fours in his 138-ball innings. Shami shared a 22-run partnership for the 9th wicket with Ishant.

In the match, New Zealand won the toss and decided to bowl first. A 55-over game could have been played in the rain-interrupted match on the first day. Mayank Agarwal 34, Prithvi Shaw 16, Cheteshwar Pujara 11, Virat Kohli 2 and Hanuma Vihari were dismissed by 7 runs.

20 Years Ago India Won in This Situation

New Zealand’s lead of 183 runs can be very heavy for India and it can come close to defeat. India has won the match only three times today after trailing by more than 150 runs in the first innings. The last time this happened was in 2000, 20 years ago. India was trailing by 274 runs in the first innings in the Test played against Australia (Kolkata) in Kolkata, but despite this, India won the match under the captaincy of Sourav Ganguly. The first such thing happened in the year 1976 when India won in a match played against West Indies in Port of Spain, despite falling behind by 131 runs. Ind vs NZ.

Both teams:

India: Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami and Jaspreet Bumrah.

New Zealand: Tom Latham, Tom Blendall, Kane Williamson (captain), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling, Colin de Grandholm, Kyle Jamison, Tim Southee, Ejaz Patel and Trent Boult.

About Ravendra Singh

Hello Friends! My name is Ravendra Singh. I am a professional Blogger and Digital Marketing Consultant & Founder of Newsbeed. I have deep knowledge on topics like Blogging, SEO and Digital Marketing!

View all posts by Ravendra Singh →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *