Karnataka Bypoll Results: BJP Won 12 Out of 15 Seats and Got a Clear Majority in the Assembly

Karnataka Bypoll Results BJP Won 12 Out of 15 Seats
  • After the by-elections in 15 seats, the majority figure was 112 in 222 seats, Yeddyurappa wanted 6 seats.
  • BJP previously had 105 seats, now 117; An Independent is also supporting BJP

Karnataka Bypoll Results: The results of the by-elections in 15 assembly seats in Karnataka came on Monday. BJP won 12 seats. Out of these, its candidates won in 11 seats, which came after rebel from Congress and JDS. The Congress got 2 seats and the JDS remained empty handed. Independent candidate Sharath Bachegowda won from Hoskote seat.

With the results of the by-election, the four-month-old Yeddyurappa government of the BJP has been secured in the state. There are a total of 224 seats in the Karnataka Legislative Assembly. 207 seats were left after 17 MLAs were disqualified. The matter of 2 assembly seats is in the High Court. After the byelection on the remaining 15 seats, the Assembly got 222 seats. Prior to the results, BJP had 105 seats. Yediyurappa needed to win 6 seats to save the government. Now it has 117 MLAs, five more than the 112 required for majority. Now the election results of the remaining two seats will not affect the government either. An independent is also supporting the BJP. .Karnataka Bypoll Results

Read Here: Latest Political News

Resignation of Congress leaders Siddaramaiah and Shivkumar

After the by-election results, Congress Legislature Party leader Siddaramaiah and State Congress President DK Shivakumar resigned. Siddaramaiah said- I have resigned as the leader of the Congress Legislature Party. As the leader of the legislative party, I should respect democracy. I have sent my resignation to Sonia Gandhi. Shivkumar said – In the by-elections, the public liked the change of party. We should not be disappointed with the result.

The BJP fielded 13 out of the 15 rebels who joined the party. Sharath Bachegowda, who won the Hoskote seat, broke away from the BJP and contested independent elections. Here BJP gave ticket to former MLA MTB Nagraj from Congress. Former JDS state president AH Vishwanath was fielded in the Hunsuru seat in Mysore. This seat has been the stronghold of JDS, but this time Congress won.

Why by-Elections were Held in 15 Seats?

17 Congresses and JDS MLAs resigned before the floor test of the then Chief Minister Kumaraswamy. The then speaker KR Ramesh Kumar disqualified all the MLAs by not accepting the resignation, hence by-elections were held for 15 seats. The case is pending in the Karnataka High Court on two seats Muskie and Rajarajeshwari Nagar, so elections will be held here later.

Before the Results, the Leaders Prayed in the Temples

Before the counting of votes, state leaders on Sunday worshiped in temples and monasteries and sought the blessings of victory. Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa went to the shrine and took the blessings of Lord Manjunath. Amidst the chanting, Yeddyurappa performed a special puja to win his party’s victory in the elections and successfully complete the next three and a half year term. After completion of the puja, the priest tied a turban on his head. At the same time, former Prime Minister and JDS chief HD Deve Gowda went to the Saibaba temple in Shirdi, Maharashtra. Deve Gowda said, ‘Ram and Rahim are the same for me. I prayed to Sai Baba for the betterment and development of the country.

67.91 percent voting was done

In the elections held on December 5, 67.91 percent voting was done. The counting of votes will begin at eight in the morning at 11 centers and all results are expected by noon. At present, the BJP has 105 MLAs (including an Independent), 66 Congresses and 34 JDS MLAs. Apart from these, there is a member of the BSP, a nominated MLA and the Speaker.

About Ravendra Singh

Hello Friends! My name is Ravendra Singh. I am a professional Blogger and Digital Marketing Consultant & Founder of Newsbeed. I have deep knowledge on topics like Blogging, SEO and Digital Marketing!

View all posts by Ravendra Singh →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *